don’t feed the bears…

So you know how you sometimes you try to do the right thing, and it comes back to bite you in the ass ? And sometimes when it sinks it’s teeth in, it feels like Jaws, times infinity ? Yeah, had one of those days…

I am reminded of something I heard years ago. Don’t feed the bears. Because if you do, they keep coming back. The same principle can be applied to trouble at school. A classmate went to the Dean and filed a complaint against a teacher, and I was asked to give a statement as well. After our two were processed, they questioned an entire class, and the information was corroborated ad nauseum. End of good deed, right ? Nope. Another of my instructors was the interim Dean of the college for 2 years and now is on the advisory board. He is naturally involved, and since last week, has seemed to pull back a bit from me and the other girl. I see his point, and understand he is trying to maintain complete professionalism so as not to give an air of favoritism. The problem is that he is holding us to a higher standard and while the slight slip in my GPA is not troubling me, the precedent he is setting IS. SO basically I feel like I was cornered and forced to rat out a tenured professor, or lie. I told the truth, and now feel as if the ramification of that is a tougher time of it. Grr…

I know, I know… pull up the big girl panties and GET ON WITH IT, already… ! But can I take a moment here, amongst friends, to feel just slightly sorry for myself before getting back to reality ? Thanks… I am in dire need of a small egg drop soup, Grey’s reruns and Swedish Fish as well as about a million hugs. I’ll take what I can get, however, and you all are better for my thighs than the candy fish… erm… that sounded bad. =)

Tomorrow is opening day for rifle hunting with permits for non-landowners up here. What this means for yours truly is that Paul will be coming home early, grilling some dinner for us, and us crawling in bed early. He needs to be up at the ungodly hour of 0300 to leave by 0400 to meet the boys and be up in a tree before 0500. He is hoping to bag a deer tomorrow, and promises to make jerky for everyone if he manages 2 this week. He is a responsible hunter, never going for the smallest allowed, and butchers the animals cleanly, utilizing as much as possible, and tanning the hide. I am happy to be waking in the wee hours to make french press for him, as well as bake some cinnamon buns to warm his hands on the long drive. I think that will bring out the dimpled grin I love so much… =)

And there you have it, peeps. Just typing to get this off my chest made me feel better, and typing about Paul made me happy. Thank you for being there for me. I know this was a tiny issue, something not relevant to life, or at least it won’t be this time next year. But it sure feels real today, and I’m thankful for all you all… Namaste…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rose
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 23:26:06

    The men-folk in this area (thankfully not LarBear) are all after deer, as well. I have space cleaned out in my freezer!! 😀

    Reply

  2. Agatha Ann
    Nov 18, 2015 @ 14:02:23

    Awe, sorry to hear about the school troubles. I, too, am all too familiar with the same thing. The cinnamon buns sound good, though!

    Reply

    • tishmoon
      Nov 18, 2015 @ 18:52:30

      I KNEW wasn’t the only one to eb in the middle of such nonsense,, I wish you were not also similarly afflicted, but knowing I am in good company brings me a curious sense of well-being. =)

      You should have seen his face… “for me, REALLY?” he asks as he scoops two up in his left hand and me in his right… =) Totally makes the horrendous mess and early morning worth it. =)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

