big girl boots…

Holy shit, am I the mother of a teenager ! I mean, a full-fledged, card-carrying member of the 15 year old girl set, complete with attitude, push up bra and skinny jeans. Gone are the days of mellow niceties, replaced now by Neutrogena spot creme and muffled “Oh, my GGGAAAWWWDDD, what, mum?” Where we used to lay in a warm pile of blankets on the floor coloring, I am now relegated to the couch with my schoolbooks in the living room, where I am “allowed” to sit with her while we watch an episode of “Bad Ink” on Netflix… but ONLY if I do not talk and disturb her while she cleans and waxes her Doc Marten’s high heeled boots… where did my snuggly little foxling go, and can I expect her to return before this creature completely drives me insane? More importantly, how did I ever thing being a parent was a good idea, something that I could pull off with a modicum of success? These days, “success” brings to mind only that she manages to get graduated with an intact GPA, hymen, and without any tattoos… sigh.

Tish being true to form, I check out as many books on the healthy raising of psychologically sound teen girls as I can devour each weekend, reading late into the night rather than studying the mineral content of local ground layers for class. I apply whatever concepts are tossed about so eloquently by the professionals, only to be confronted with the fact that most of the prevailing literature and wisdom simply does not apply to a profoundly gifted girl who is capable of manipulating most adults around her with our even knowing she is doing so… I know it sounds ridiculous, but sometimes being in the upper 0.5% in the brains department does one no favors. Especially when you share this trait with your mum, and she sees this as a mountain to scale and less of a life choice for said teen… I am thinking rocky times lay ahead for our little family.

BUT… let’s get back to the highlight of my weekend, and that was her walking in, no… tottering in actually, so tall that I had to look up at her, to see a wry lofty grin slowly spread across her mouth, only to be reigned in and the words “Hello there, mother” softly expelled from her pursed lips. I felt like a 3 day old fish at the market, and wanted to crawl away, but grinned up at her and said “OMG, LOVE those boots!!!!!!” What else can a mum do but go along with the tides sometimes ? And good grief, are they some seriously great boots… as in, I would wear them to school if she ever took them off long enough for me to grab. =) They fall under the category of SERIOUSLY BAD-ASS, and I didn’t know if I should hug her or run the other way when she walked thru the door… She is into her Grunge phase, complete with dark jeans, even darker tanks and plaid shirts from Hot Topic and Zumiez… think skater-chick meets Kurt Cobain… she is totally adorable, slightly sexy and frightening in equal parts, and I know she can hold her own in a fist fight, so I really have no worries or complaints, right ?!

image3 image2 image1

I’ll be back tomorrow, for now I need to go hyperventilate, grab a coffee and shower and head to classes. She is planning on decorating her Halloween tree this evening (?) so am sure I will have a photo or story to share with you… have a lovely, peeps…

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Oct 12, 2015 @ 11:22:14

    So, um, what size are her feet?

    Just askin’…

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Oct 12, 2015 @ 17:53:49

    women’s 9… =) I already tried them today… too loose, I would break an ankle… but would look AWESOME doing it, lmao =) =)

    The ex is a generous man, I could afford the replacement laces… lol =)

    Reply

  3. Alice
    Oct 12, 2015 @ 21:50:42

    Those ARE lovely boots. Though I’d fall over for sure!

    Reply

  4. E.
    Oct 12, 2015 @ 23:20:14

    Girl’s got SUPERB boot-taste. Damn.
    Also, teenagers don’t make sense. Especially girls. Especially smart girls. You’ll survive. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

