what day IS it, anyway…

Holy cow, Batman ! A mere 7 weeks ago I was sunbathing, spending an hour choosing just the right peach from the trees in quiet orchards, and and taking leisurely showers, buffing and sugaring to within an inch of my life, enveloping my glowing pink skin in mounds of sake scented bubbles…

Then the semester began, you know the one that was supposed to be so much fun; interesting classes and plenty of time for work and Paul and parenting… except that now I am driving 60 in a 35 zone, lucky if I can get just my legs shaved to the knees and manage to eat an actual meal once a day. GAH ! Midterms are almost upon us and I have to wonder yet again, where is the time flying to ?! If you take as fact that time dilation does indeed exist between inertial frames in our ever expanding universe, then I suppose you have the basis for the phenomenon in which I am currently residing, but still… let’s work on a theory for slowing it down, or one stating that Swedish Fish and chocolate have a negative calorie load, you know, useful stuff like that.

So I’m sad this evening.  Because I am cold, and because the classes I was desperate to take next semester are not being offered due to budget cuts. And it is still almost exactly 72 hours until I see Paul again, if the storm does not wallop us, in which case it will be who-knows-when, lol. And because I took the AC units out of the windows today, finding a plethora of dead bees on the filthy sills. And because I spent a minor king’s ransom getting the duvets cleaned, meaning it actually is getting to be that time of year, when cold toes and the sniffles are a part of daily life. And because it seems my green thumb has finally kicked in, because I am now wondering what the hell I am going to do with a 3 foot tall bud plant that I accidentally grew in the container under my palm tree. Please, don’t ask, this is a story for another day… =) And because I am such a child that I actually said to my boss yesterday “but this isn’t the way I envisioned this semester at all”, to which she dissolved into peals of laughter and said I was the most naive genius I have ever laid eyes on, and wondered should I be living alone…

So I have around 80 hours of work to do for the ginormous EVS lab and thought I would be able to plow thru at least half of it today… BWAHAHA !! The universe had other plans, of course, and I will not bore you with the details, but suffice it to say that this was one of those days that made the Bad News Bears look like they had their shit together compared to me. However, I am on the couch now, wrapped in a blanket and eating grapefruit while “chatting” with you all, so things are definitely looking up. =) Dizziness, exhaustion and ravenous hunger curtailed my pathetic attempt at getting work done, so I am officially done for the day. I forgot to get tea at the store today and am trying desperately to not go make some more coffee… remember when I was down to a single, delicious cup a day, accompanied by a book and feet-up-time ? I am a total caffeine whore again. =)

My head is swimming and my eyes are watery, so I am gonna try to peel out my contacts and find some long pajama pants to slide into. I hope you have a wonderful night, and will catch you on the flip side… goodnight, peeps. Namaste…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Oct 04, 2015 @ 11:43:31

    Funny how the weather suddenly changes how we feel about everything, right? ((HUGS))

    Reply

    • tishmoon
      Oct 04, 2015 @ 12:37:15

      Yup, you said it. I’m usually loving the seasons-changing days, but am feeling decidedly sorry for myself at the moment, lmao. =)

      I actually am beginning to despise October, as I don’t even have cable or anything, but every time I turn on the PS3 for Netflix or Amazon, the PS Store has many gruesomely detailed photos and movie captions, leading to me scaring myself all in an attempt to lighten my mood with an episode of The Great British Baking Show… sigh. =)

      Here’s to warm days, cold nights and plenty of time with friends… ! =)

      Reply

  2. Agatha Ann
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 12:13:00

    I feel like you have expressed how I am feeling but in such a more elegant way. If only there was more time to enjoy the changing seasons the way they were meant to be enjoyed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language for second language learners

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, lifestyle & everything in between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

