it’s official…

Yours truly is the newest Junior Lab Assistant for Microbiology, Chemistry AND the greenhouse… ! =) =) I was told my reputation preceded me, to which I laughingly replied “Well, thanks for your time, good luck with the remaining interviews”… we laughed over coffee and she thinks we’ll get along perfectly. =)

This will be the smallest and most insignificant job I have ever had. 12 hours a week, spread over 3 days. Under $10 an hour, no benefits… but I am unreasonably happy with this new line to add to my Curriculum Vitae…

This is the first job I have had since the military that I chose ALL BY MYSELF. I know, I sound completely idiotic, but everything that I have been working toward since The Professor moved out was in fact, his idea. He was trying to be supportive, trying to motivate me… his heart was in the right place, but I felt more and more boxed in, scared and unfulfilled as I realized I was doing this to keep his comfort level high, and that my heart was simply not in it. THIS job, however, I got all because of my hard work. A professor recommended me even tho there are Micro majors much better suited for the work.

SO… I will be even more broke, but will have my weekends to actually STUDY ! =) My boss thinks my priority needs to be my grades since the grad school scholarships are competitive, and she is willing to adjust my days when exam weeks come around. And besides, I will be getting paid to mix earth, and coax seedlings toward the heat lamps… ! Wow, just… wow… I am more peaceful today than I have been since I began working at my current place, and am fidgeting with excitement at drafting my 2 weeks notice letter later tonight. =)

I was wondering a few weeks ago why all the CV’s I had been sending out were not met with more positive results. Now I see the universe was trying to get me to be still, and wait for this little gem to pop up. I am so glad I listened to my inner Tish and waited. I would have been so sad to miss this opportunity…

I am heading off to hike in the waning dregs of daylight, then make a cup of sweet coffee and head to the back patio to await Paul’s return and watch the stars flick on, lighting the night sky above the tree line. Maybe I’ll see our resident skunk tonight, or another turkey with small hatchlings toddling behind. Maybe I will seemingly be alone out there, with only the fireflies to keep me company. All I know is that none of this possibility would have been possible had remained the fat and unhappy housewife of all those moons ago…

Maybe someday when I’m rich and famous, I can fly us all to Ralph’s place, and we can lounge by the seaside and laugh about the silly girl I used to be before I got my muchness back… until then, thanks for reading. =)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 10:13:14

    That sounds like a pretty awesome job, actually. I would love that too, even though I am not the least bit qualified 😀

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 10:38:13

    Thank you !! =) =) It sounds perfect, low key, independent and playing in the dirt… plus plenty of time for the occasional cup of coffee… what’s not to love ?! =) =)

    Reply

  3. Agatha Ann
    Aug 14, 2015 @ 14:12:46

    Congratulations on the job! Working in a lab is great, even though I don’t do it anymore. Some days I really miss it!

    Reply

    • tishmoon
      Aug 14, 2015 @ 20:52:34

      I am simply thrilled to be doing something that is in some small way aligning with where I want to be, and where I feel I am going… =) Not to mention I have been increasingly uncomfortable with doling out meds for the short-staffed RN’s at work… =)

      Reply

  4. Alice
    Aug 16, 2015 @ 18:30:19

    “first job…that I chose ALL BY MYSELF”
    Not only do you not sound idiotic — this sounds downright MAGICAL. Power on, sister! I haven’t been following your blog at all long, but even that has been long enough for me to recognize what a powerful statement you are making here!! YAYY YOU!!!

    [Also on the not-long front: if someone were, say, a newcomer to the Tish Moon Universe and were curious about the clearly-significant-even-if-no-longer(?)-present character referred to as “The Professor,” would there be a key post or two you might direct that reader to in order to acquaint herself with important backstory? Or would you instead suggest that said hypothetical reader is far too uptight about continuity and should just go with the flow as it takes her?]

    Reply

  5. tishmoon
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 00:09:02

    Alice…clearly of Otherland, as you are srsly the bomb… THANK YOU ! =) =) Your encouragement means a lot to me, and I appreciate you taking the time to comment. =)

    Ah… The Professor… he is my ex-husband, we were together 15 years, now lives down the street so our foxling can scamper between the houses with ease. Let me think a day or two about his whereabouts in this mess of a blog, and I will attempt to point you in the right direction. He may not be totally present, but is totally there for our kiddo, which is all that matters to me… and that he pays my rent, of course, lmao !

    Will be in touch, and thanks again, my new friend, for the kind words ! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language for second language learners

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, lifestyle & everything in between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

