in between days…

I just love, love, LOVE in between days ! =) =) If you’re lucky, you get two or three a year… you know, the days smack dab in the middle of a season where the weather turns so dramatically you think you’ve pulled a Rip Van and missed a couple of months, in either direction. Spring into Summer is not so dramatic, after all, the days are warming little by little… but when you have a mid-80’s summer day followed by cold rain, dreary and enveloping like late Autumn… that is my FAV ! =) =)

I awoke this morning to a dark house, chilly and smelling of rain and the drenched woods I inhabit. Walking out on the patio wrapped in a beach towel, I was wet and shivering in moments, but too happy to move, allowing the rain to water down my coffee and mash my bangs to my forehead. Ah, bliss… for as much as I love the sun, especially when in the middle of the ocean, if I am landlocked, my heart belongs to the Pacific Northwest. Anything that gets me remembering all those languid years, those Redwoods, the trips down the PCH on a Ducati, weaving in and out of beach traffic… sigh… happy-making, to infinity and BEYOND !

So I did what any normal woman would do with a couple of free hours on her hands in the morning… I baked a cake. Yup, me, Tish, baked an ACTUAL cake… with eggs and everything ! Ok, so it was a mix, but I added and tweaked until it resembled something less mundane… with chocolate buttercream icing to boot ! Only took 4 hours, two tries and a pound of butter… here’s snaps of the finished product, I was going for a marbled look but ended up with yellow cake with mud on top. But STILL… it’s the thought that counts, right ? And knowing how handy I am with a cake pan and oven (snicker), I am certain Paul will be duly impressed… =) Anything to put a smile on that man’s face is worth the effort… and chocolate covered kitchen, lol ! I know it’s not so pretty or professional, but I think he’ll love it, right ?! Breakfast was a quarter cup of icing washed down with a cup of coffee… and WOW did I have an energy burst… sugar is TOTALLY my new bestie…

image1  image3

Speaking of loving things, and photos, this is as good a time as any to show you a photo of the bouquet he picked for me that day when he came home late… every time I see this, I grin like Chessie and my heart melts a little more…

image1 image2

He was so sweet, saying “they needed some greenery, do you think it’s too much ?” CUTENESS OVERLOAD ! To which I replied “No baby, it is exactly, just perfectly right”… dissolved into tears yet again, and as he kissed my breath away, he told me I am the crying-est woman he’s ever loved… sigh… just… ohhh…

This coming weekend he is off to race the ’61 Corvette at the speedway, so I will be utterly alone. I am looking forward to the quiet, actually, and the ability to sleep and get stuff organized for school. Plus, this will be good practice for hunting season… I was already told absolutely NO texting, as he will either be stalking deer or up to his elbows in blood cutting steaks in the really big woods a few hours from here…

I am off to consume some calories from veggies and protein, and perhaps indulge in another cup of smooth coffee… whatever your day brings, friends, I hope it can be in some small way a magical one… have a lovely !

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 12:41:23

    You know my first thought was of The Cure when I saw this title, right? 🙂

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 13:17:27

    BWAHAHA ! =) =) We are seriously dating ourselves with or comments as of late… haha =)

    Reply

  3. Alice
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 14:29:42

    YAYYY CAKE!!! (Looks pretty damn well-marbled to me, btw.)

    Sugar and I have been besties for quite some time. Though we get a bit of a threesome going on with butter not infrequently, truth be told. Sugar and butter are both quite trampy — and I wouldn’t have it any other way! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

A Lifestyle & Beauty Blog

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

