words for the day… take 14

“We can let the circumstances of our lives harden us so that we become increasingly resentful and afraid, or we can let them soften us, and make us kinder. You ALWAYS have the choice.”         Dalai Lama        (emphasis mine)

How true, that we carry what we choose. We decide to pick up the burden that will slowly crush us under its impossible weight… or we can place it beside the path we are meandering down, throw a rose on top of it, chant a bit and walk away…

Do you find yourself hard enough to break around the edges a bit when friction comes a-calling, or are you able to shake it off, and become a little less defined, and a little more beautiful, like a watery sunset ?

I have had more than my fair share of grief this past year and a half. Some I willingly admit I brought to my table with a pretty invitation, but much was thrust upon me not by choice. I could be miserable, bitter, broken. But I choose to be me; happy and filled with loving-kindness, respect for everything around me, softened around the edges in the manner that a favorite silk scarf will eventually fray. I do not love me less for my frilly bits, but more because I allowed them to show me who I am inside.

I have a choice, every day, of accepting or turning from love and friendship… of supporting or pushing those in need away… of honoring my body with nourishing foods and exercise, or laying on the couch, bitching about the weather. While I readily admit to wanting to lay under my duvet and cry when it is -22, I am more satisfied when I grab a cup of something warm and dance it out. Endorphins kick in, muscles warm my body and smiles light up my face. How could I NOT choose me ?!

What choice are you facing today ? In light of the Lunar New Year, and yet another chance at a new beginning, are you going to pick up the torch and race towards your best, personal finish line ? If so, when you come ’round the bend, you will see me there, waving you on and cheering for you… have a lovely, all my beautiful and perfect-in-your-imperfectness peeps…

 

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

A Lifestyle & Beauty Blog

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

