questions of the day…

Hmm… funny how this universe works… but I’ll save that for another day, existential crisis adverted for another morning. Instead, I find myself chuckling at the thought of borrowing from our favorite surfer Rob, and have a few questions to answer. Being the non-conformist that I am, cannot commit to the entire list, but here is my take on his take on another’s take of questions applicable to the day…

1. What is the weirdest place you have found yourself on Christmas morning ? Ah, that’s an easy one… Kyoto, hotel room, pitch black, in the tub. Not sure if you are aware, but the tubs in Japan are small, deep, like our walk in tubs here. I seriously had no idea if I was alive, dead, or in one piece… the inky blackness was solid, and it took me what felt like days to extricate myself and find my way to the remote control for lifting the shades… GAH ! Along with the watery light came pain from plum sake, seeping into my brain as I slid to the floor to spend the rest of the morning spinning quite happily… fa, la, la, la… !

2. What is the one present you wanted badly and never got ? Again, easy-peasy… a pony. Come on, am a girl who grew up in the 1970’s, surrounded by farmland in Maine to waving grasses hip-deep in Oklahoma. Of course it was a pony… ! =)

3. What is the one thing you wanted badly, received, and wish you hadn’t ? Hmm… this one took more thought, as I tend to be my own worst enemy. If there were Academy Awards for accidental self-sabotage, I would have won many times, by a veritable landslide. Luckily I can say that I am breaking that trend, but boy, does the past have a way of following us, snaking around our ankles when we are not looking and then BAM, yanking us off our feet and into oblivion before we know what hits us… again, I digress. The gift would have to be the engagement ring I received from Michael, the first one. I was starry-eyed and over the moon, even as I wondered WHY we had to go this arcane path of conforming… needless to say, we never did make it to the alter. Once, twice, trice he asked, all on bended knee, every time with a new jewel, and each time I said yes, caught in the moment, until we returned to our lives of insanity. I think I would take all that back… make a smoother few years for us.

4. What is your fav holiday show, song or movie ? Well, I am against christmas on principle, so there is nothing about this time of year that makes my heart sing. That being said, I adore “Christmas in Connecticut.” I know, how typical, Tish ??!! =) But it is beautiful, irreverent, lovely and just plain funny. Wonderful acting, a woman who cannot cook, fat babies and star-crossed romance in spades… a total chick flick, and makes me merry every time I see it ! =)

5. What is my least fav holiday show, movie or music ? This season of excess makes me gag repeatedly, and I abhor most of it, sorry to shatter the beautiful baubles we are supposed to reside in this time of year. =) So the music is at the top of my list, just… Y. U. C. K… a caveat, however. As a classical music lover, I have a deep appreciation for the Ave Maria. Simply lovely. =)

6. What is my fav christmas memory ? Acapulco, alone, in the mid 1990’s. After a late term miscarriage, and I was able to travel, my CO let me have 2 weeks of leave off the books. Michael flew down with me to make certain I was really alright, but I forced him to leave me in solitude for the duration. I spent the day, bruised and bleeding, in a small hospital on the outskirts of the city, checking in the bags of supplies I brought with me. I ate lunch with the doctors; enchiladas, mole and other treats made by mothers and grandmothers. Broken english and spanish mingled as we ate, drank, and laughed together. I went back for a few hours each day, walking blood vials to the lab, filing charts by last name, and watering plants. As the days passed, I was allowed to do simple triage, sutures, administer Tylenol and triple-antibiotic creme, silver sulfadiazine to burns, another almost meaningless tasks, that I was repeatedly assured made everyone’s life easier. It felt good. I almost did not come back.  It may seem weird that this is my fav memory, surrounded by pain, loss and those without, but it was such a time of simple healing, with strangers who has nothing but abject joy on their faces as I walked in each morning, to share their burden… and their tacos and cold beer. =)

So… that’s all I’ve got today… have a wonderful day, a special day… have a lovely…!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. El Guapo
    Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:37:17

    Merry Christmas, to you and the docking. Hope you get everything you want!

    Reply

    • El Guapo
      Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:37:54

      Foxling. Not docking.
      (No idea what that even is…)

      Reply

      • tishmoon
        Dec 25, 2014 @ 13:22:21

        HAHA ! =) Thanks, Guap… my foxling is with her dad today; am certain she is getting suitably spoiled. =) Since I do the Solstice, I had my goodies early. =) Alas… the one object that my heart desires is out of reach for the present… however, there is always hope. =)

        Have a beautiful day, filled with as much happiness as you can hold… ! =)

  2. NotAPunkRocker
    Dec 25, 2014 @ 13:17:43

    Well, after I get past the horrible thought of what Guapo may not have meant with this comment…

    Merry Christmas, dear! I love the list, I am just being lazy at the moment 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language for second language learners

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

