sleepy girl…

Guess who is upstairs in my shower ? No, filthy-minded readers, not The Boy…(notice he is in caps now?)… Becky ! As in, John and Becky; she showed up at my house last evening, about an hour after I got back from depositing the foxling at her dad’s house. I was surprised to say the least, because with kids, it is rare that a mom can just make an hour long drive and not be missed. She has a 6 pack of cold beer, a small overnight bag and a frown on her pretty face. After laughing at all the “progress” I have made in the house since she last was here, we collapsed on the living room floor, a sweating beer bottle in hand and turned on trashy telly while we talked… or perhaps bitched would be more accurate. John finally came clean about the whole “situation” we find ourselves in and while she understands, we both found it ridiculous last night. Conversation naturally turned to The Boy and then Scott, who she met 2 weeks ago, and is permanently in the “friends with no chance of benefits” category, much to his chagrin. She is like me in that whole finding-just-one-man-sexually-attractive-at-a-time thing, which is good for her marriage, and makes John happy btw. =) It is a little less neat when the man in question is the one man in the entire damned state who works round the clock… but I digress.

While Scott and I took Piper for a walk, Becky stayed here with the remote, a bag of Quinn’s popcorn and the promise of a hot bubble bath. Scott, the dog and I were caught in a deluge of epic proportions, and by the time he dropped me off, I was looking less like a girl and more like a drowned rodent than ever before. After I took a shower, Becks and I stayed up until after 2, and even though I was beyond exhausted at that point, I was up at 6;19, unable to fall back asleep. It was a really fun night, she is a so hysterical and if we cannot hang out regularly any longer due to circumstances beyond our control,  I think we will make time to get together, just the 2 of us.

I am heading out to see my brother and sister in law this morning, and look forward to spending the day petting kittens, directing movers and drinking coffee… since I seem to be surviving on no sleep, I need something to keep me conscious for the drive home. Becks was giving me a ration of shit and thinks my lack of sleep proves I have vamp tendencies as well…  I retorted she has been watching too much True Blood, which of course turned the conversation to the Skarsgaard brothers… need I say more ?!

So, to recap; great night. Good times were had by all. A bit of alcohol, a bit of  watermelon, a lot of laughter and the promise of things to come. Since The Boy is sure his schedule will be open by then, we have tentative plans to get some of our friends together in 3 weeks for a picnic and a game of football… both our boys were QB-1, so the alpha maleness should keep us girls in stitches. Gotta run… Have a lovely ! =)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 11:00:59

    Glad you had such a good time 🙂

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 18:08:05

    Was awesome !!!!!!! Had a drink with a friend, didn’t get bit by the dog… life’s good. =) Yesterday was a rough one, the date is always a bit wonky for me, not to dwell on the past. I love her for driving all that way… =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

