sunburn and flowers…

I am soaking up so much Vitamin D, my body is going into shock ! =) Got home this afternoon to find a gift waiting on the front porch, from a boy who is WAY too young to be this interested in me… slightly wilted flowers, tired from laying in the sun waiting for my return, and a ribbon-wrapped dvd of “The Graduate”… he is a persistent little shit, I give him credit for that. =) While he is ridiculously good looking, and I could definitely use the attention, I did not have the heart to lead him on, so I jumped back in the car and drove over to where the guys were working for the day… the cat-calls I got when I climbed out of the car, pink and perfumed in a rumpled sundress were flattering, but his face fell when I handed back the bundle. I know, I am heartless, but after talking to this kid for 2 months, I know he is a nice guy and OBVIOUSLY by the appearance of gifts at my door, he hasn’t quite gotten the message. No fear, he was not sad for long, and while I drove away, he sat on the back of the truck and waved… ah, the exuberance of youth ! =)

I got a free week-long trial membership at a local gym yesterday. It is less than 3 miles from my house, and their pool opens at 5 every weekday. I have been swimming in the mornings there, and then heading out to whatever lake or pool we feel like meandering to that day. I am alone most afternoons, which is nice after racing around all morning. I have even had a chance to do a few hours worth of classwork each day thus far, and the house is clean, to boot. =) I cannot believe how much I can accomplish when I am taking care of nothing but myself and my needs… this is a glimpse of what it will be like when my foxling is in college, and I must say, the experience is pretty good thus far. I will freely admit to missing the hell outta her, though. =)

I got a rain jacket today while I was out, ensuring sunny skies for the foreseeable future… should have thought of this weeks ago. =) It is vibrant orange, brighter even than a life-jacket, no one will mistakenly run me over while I am wearing this thing, that is for certain. My plans for tonight are small, as I am beyond exhausted. Leftover grilled chicken for dinner, with salad and some decaf Earl Grey tea I swiped from the our trip up north. A couple of hours finishing up reading and papers for my 2 classes, shower and then a little telly, bed a bit early with a new library book.

Tomorrow is another early day, swimming in the wee hours followed by DR and maybe lunch out if the appointment does not take too long. Am thinking of renting a bike and riding on a trail that my neighbor discovered recently, will have to see. I have been making a concerted effort to jog/hike at least 2 miles a day in addition to swimming, boating and general running around with the miscreants I have fallen in with. Needless to say, my weight loss has kicked back in with numbers more to my liking. Still so far to go… but I have not had any alcohol or ice cream, so that is a small miracle right there. I actually said NO to lime aid with vodka… gods, give me strength to keep refusing ! =)

That’s it for today, time to get to work. Strangely, after filling my days with play, my mind appreciates the rigor of my assignments… But to be fair, I never did claim to be normal… Hope your June is as sunny, warm and happy as mine has been thus far… =)

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 04:21:27

    Oh, I suppose you did do the right thing, but boy toy still would have been fun for a little while 🙂

    Good for you for getting back into the workout routine. I am more than a little jealous about a bright orange raincoat 🙂

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 09:06:24

    Thanks, Punky ! =) It feels good to be in a more structured routine again.

    The raincoat IS pretty awesome… I confess that I got it because it reminded me of the lifejackets we wore on boardings. I still can’t believe I gave up a life I loved for a person I loved… what a rotten choice to have to make.

    I hope you have a great day, and will keep you updated on the boy situation… =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

A Lifestyle & Beauty Blog

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

