just a fast one…

Series post #11… DON’T TAKE THINGS PERSONALLY… =)

So much of our daily life experience can be tainted by offense and hurt feelings, if we allow ourselves to internalize all that happens around us. If someone calls you personally a bitch or something similar, then this would be a good time to get irritated. But for basically everything else, just let it go. We all react to outside stimuli, and since we are experiencing our own version of events, we cannot be uber-aware of everything around us at all times. I am sure that my actions can be taken with negative emotion a good deal of the time, but I chose to simply do my beat and hope that those around me will see my actions and reactions for what they are, no more than that. I know there are days when it is easy to get caught up in the self-pity or confusion that experiencing a “slight” can make you feel… but what if we just accept that the other person is having a stressful day, or even more simply, allow them to be who and what they are right at that moment and not feel as if it was directed at us personally ? Life would certainly be a lot easier, and happier, if we could manage to get over ourselves most of the time. =)

Things I am NOT taking personally this morning…

1. The construction in our building, banging in perfect tempo with my pulse… must take more ibuprofen…

2. My foxling’s refusal to be polite a good deal of the time… she is exploring her age and limitations, and her comments are more sarcasm than sweet as of late. Perfectly natural at this stage of the game, and rather funny, but wears on my nerves by 6pm.

3. The managers’ refusal to give me a newer model stove… don’t even ask, but I cannot be too upset because I have decided to MOVE !!!!!!!!!

4. My extended family’s inability to love deeply, kindly and without reservation… theirs is a conditional love, and the dependent factors change regularly… I realized recently that I no longer have the time, energy or, most importantly, the desire to jump thru hoops in order to stay in touch and be part of the family. I spent many years alone, and loved myself more when I was not trying to make everyone accept me. I hate to be blunt… but screw ’em. =)

Things I AM taking personally today…

1. The Professor’s offer to grab some things from my fav grocers for my foxling and me… he is a good man, and I am happy he is willing to make my life easier sometimes. =)

2. My weight loss… I have been working so hard to meet my goals, but a few weeks of sickness and concussion have derailed my plans a bit. I am, however, happy and feeling good about what I have done, and know more is going to get done, in a healthy manner and time frame.

3. A new friend… she and I have emailed regularly, her mother-in-law is hosting the horseback riding lessons for the homeschooled kids next month. This new relationship is nothing big, and we may never see one another again after June, but it is something we both have built, and that feels like accomplishment.

4. My clean house… the maintenance team stopped by again today, in preparation for ripping out all the windows tomorrow… they said our place is their fav, and would like to use our unit to show to prospective tenants. No way in hell, but makes me feel good, nonetheless.

Time to grade maths, recite conjugations and slog thru more electromagnetic insanity. And coffee… much coffee. =) Have a lovely…

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 09:33:58

    I am with you completely on the first list, but especially #4.

    Good for the “personally” list too 🙂

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 09:38:17

    I know, right ??!! Seems like a lot of us struggle with our place in our “family”…
    I really had to own some of the good stuff as well, that is something I am remembering to do, enjoy the good as well as let go of the bad. It is like mentally sorting laundry ! =)

    Reply

  3. El Guapo
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 11:04:05

    Glad you’re only taking the good stuff personally!

    Reply

    • tishmoon
      Apr 23, 2014 @ 15:20:18

      I will freely admit to this lesson taking me MANY years to digest, but now can honestly say I don’t have time for anything less than happiness and light. =) I wasted a third of my life on something that was not going anywhere, and do not intend to repeat that learning experience. =)

      Reply

  4. Rob's Surf Report
    Apr 23, 2014 @ 11:32:36

    I hear you in the family front. My own mother has a problem calling me, returning my calls, or even calling me on holidays and my birthday. I had to get in her business recently and she managed to set aside some time to Skype with us on Easter. I totally get how it can feel like it’s not worth the hassle of trying to keep in touch when you’re the one making all the effort.

    But hey, it sounds like you know what you’re doing — keep up the good work.

    P.S. How do you balance homeschooling and work?

    Reply

    • tishmoon
      Apr 23, 2014 @ 15:24:46

      Um… I actually do not work outside the home. =) With her classical, college prep curriculum, there is no way I could fit in all our responsibilities around employment. I know some people do it, but I am more hands-on, and she learns to mastery, so we do not have days of “watch the video and quiz yourself”… =)

      I have been gradually pulling away and while I teach most subjects, she is gaining more independent study time, which allows me to complete my own classwork. This fall, I will begin online classes onward my degree, and am planning on working later in the afternoon, while she finishes up her seat work. I also will have weekends to study, so I know I will maintain the ridiculous GPA I need for the program. =)

      I m sorry if I misled you or any other reader… thanks as always for the comments. =)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

