map out that plan…

Snow… on April 16th… sigh.

DSCN2458

SERIES POST #6…

Ready ? Let’s jump right in today… DEVELOPING SITUATIONAL AWARENESS !

Formulate a battle plan, implement strategy… get your ass handed to you ? Reassess, regroup and formulate new plan of attack, charge ahead ! You might find yourself under fire, but solid thinking will always minimize casualties.

This might sound a bit extreme, after all, how many of us are soldiers ? But when we are talking about our lives, our chance to create something we want, need and can be proud of, what is more serious ?! =) That does not mean we need to take it seriously every moment of the day, but we sure do need to be aware of what we can do when it feels like we are under fire.

Having a decent plan, and being able to adjust when things slip is the only way we can accomplish our goals. Sometimes the big goals cannot be worked on right away, and need to be pushed to the simmer burner for a time. That does not mean you are quitting on yourself, just being realistic about timing. I am in that situation right now, and am finding that creating new, smaller and short-term goals is just what I need to feel like I am getting something done. I have the freedom to do quite a bit of what I want, and will admit that I sometimes struggle to identify what I would like to do, what is important to me, and what is worth my time.

Even though I have been at home without outside employment since 2007, I keep pretty busy and am trying to fill my days and mind with only quality material. I am not used to having a lot of time to play with, and of course, finances keep me from going too crazy. =) So… what to do until I can enroll in my classes ? I have been thinking that if we move into the cheaper place, I will have the wiggle room to take classes when I have the time, online. But I do want to do more than classes; our lives are filled with so much book-learning as it is. I spent a few hours on Monday looking at bicycles, perhaps I will grab one and swoop around the parking lot on circles… I also thought about going to an Asian grocers to find some specific spices and veggies, and trying my hand at more authentic fusion cuisine. My foxling would love that, and it might be fun to make simple dishes together once or twice a week. Good grief, I sound like a spoiled housewife who is searching for her next project !!

Anyone else find themselves with a little time on their hands for the short-term, and searching for a way to fill it ? My schedule with my foxling does not allow me to have a part-time job, volunteer or otherwise. For now, I am enjoying the ever warmer weather and exploring my surroundings. Keeping healthy, working out and hiking around the county. Reading, writing, and the occasional movie. A good place to be, for now. I know in a few short years, I will be yearning to have these slow and free days back. So I better make some good memories to tide me thru those long nights of studying. =)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. El Guapo
    Apr 16, 2014 @ 09:10:07

    Like you say, as long as you’re filling your free time with things you want to do.
    I wouldn’t mind having more free time and finding things to fill it.
    How about learning a simple musical instrument, like a harmonica?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

