on purpose…

SERIES POST #3

I was grading papers last night and realized that my foxling is listening to me more than she lets on. I have recently telling her to be more purposeful with her writing, with her word choices and her time in general. She is blossoming under the instruction, and while she has the propensity to drive my bat-shit crazy, she is really a good student and for the most part, a joy to be around.

I have taken my own advice lately, as well. Since The Professor moved out, I have had to change my expectations… of my situation, our relationship, my foxling and even of myself. Things might not be where I want them to be, but I am advancing toward my desires, and that pushes me on in times that are not as easy as I would like.

A behavior I have been modeling, as much for myself as my foxling, is to LIVE LIFE ON PURPOSE. To decide what I want, then focus my actions to support this. Behaving with purpose brings intentional results. Let me say that again, INTENTIONAL results… We all have felt that life is out of our control, that we are not where we want to be. But by purposefully deciding which actions to take, we create results that are intentional, not happenstance. What a freeing thought that is ! Of course, most of us are bound by finances, responsibilities, health matters and a hundred other circumstances that make our lives unique… but I believe that we ALL have choices, no matter how small, that we can make to bring us toward our ultimate goals.

Some of the choices I have been mulling over are big ones. I am sure we will move next summer, as I have had about as much as I can handle with the rodent-in-the-roof department. Our town home is huge, pretty, three stories with 2 large patios and a woody backyard. Washer and dryer, 2 parking spaces and free heat all make it even more appealing. However, the continued problems with the roof and the unwillingness to rectify the situation has made the situation more of a headache on a daily basis than I have time for. So… do we stay with this company, move into a smaller place and save a little green, or throw in the towel and move a few streets down into a large and very sunny apartment ? Damned if I know… will keep you posted. =)

I have also been debating the intelligence of my foxling’s school schedule. A wonderful freedom in home education is that you can make the experience fit you, not the other way around. She is exhibiting signs of being bored, and that is common for the end of a school term. I think she may be ready for a more rigorous schedule, with more personal accountability. I am considering setting her 9th grade up so that she has “classes” with me 2 days a week per subject. This will allow me to guide her and be involved, but she will have days when she is solely responsible for the work, as well. Sounds like a good compromise, we shall see. I still have a bit of finagling to do, to ensure that she has enough time to complete all the classes she is attempting. This will be a huge year for her, many changes and new teachers online. She is so excited by it all, and seems not to have much stress. Things are progressing along quite nicely, so I will continue to plug away at the planning and scheduling.

On a very light and happy note, My foxling and I went out this week so I could get my hair cut. I stopped at Old Navy to get her some pajamas that were on sale, and she convinced me to try on some shirts. I actually got myself a few, and am happy to report that I am now in a MEDIUM ! I know how much weight I have lost, but trying on clothing that actually fits was a shocker… I looked good in that dressing room mirror ! =) I still have a trillion pounds to go, but the fact that I am now wearing a MEDIUM makes me laugh out loud ! I had a few weeks of not much working out, due to a nasty head cold and the never-ending migraine, but now I feel better and that gave me the push I needed to work out a bit longer this morning. =) My foxling left with her dad last night, and will not be back until Wednesday morning, so I am taking this opportunity to sleep, workout more and make simple meals for myself. I am going all the way, with a facial, bubble bath and even will paint my toes ! As much as I miss her while she is away, I am grateful for the time to be just ME and do what my heart pleases.

I am off to drink some coffee and read a book in the sunshine out back. I am thinking a cucumber, strawberry and spinach smoothie for snack later on, followed by a nice long drive and a hike. =) Enjoy your weekend, and do something on purpose, just because you can… !

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. El Guapo
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 20:23:42

    Hope you enjoy the downtime!
    Purposefully, of course. 😉

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 20:45:51

    What an awesome day, planted some flowers and scrubbed everything… had a great time ! =) Enjoy your weekend, Guap ! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language for second language learners

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, lifestyle & everything in between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

