believe, just believe…

SERIES POST #2

Now that we have established I FINALLY have a goal in mind… how to get there ? I remember about a hundred years ago when I was young and single; if I wanted to take a class or move, I simply DID it. Not a lot of thought went into the decision-making process, other than the usual… can I afford it, and is it worth the trouble. Now that I am a stay at home, educating-my-child type of gal, the process is much more involved. There are health forms to fill out, immunizations to get, tests to take, financial aid to beg, and the 20 minute drive several times to the campus to actually enroll in a class that I need. All of this around schooling my foxling for about 8 hours a day, as well as taking care of a house and our daily lives. A friend told me to just wait until she is in college until I begin, but that is 4 more years down the road, and to be brutally honest, I do not have that kind of time to throw away. Contrary to popular belief, I am not getting any younger here… =)

So how am I learning to balance all this insanity ? I BELIEVE THAT IT IS POSSIBLE ! Ok, not quite the sage wisdom you were expecting, but it is so true. I believe that I can do this, that I will succeed and that I will be happy during the process. There will be hard days, doubts, migraines and traffic, bouts of the flu to contend with, and snow to shovel at 5am. There will be long nights spent studying, long days spent writing useless papers, and professors who will insist on being a pain in the ass, simply because they can. But thru all this, there I will be, books in hand, scarf around my neck, bopping down the walkway to class. I will get up early, learn to adjust my schedule and expectations, and just enjoy the ride. A long road ? Perhaps, but aren’t the best journeys those that take you winding down side roads and into unforeseen territory ?

I have come across a disturbing trend as of late. I chat online with many nursing students in MSN programs across the states, as well as other grad students and some undergrads. The Professor and his girl are both in college full time as well, so I have surrounded myself with those working towards new careers. The lot of them seem to be disenchanted with the whole college experience and tend to be vocal with their dissatisfaction. We all knew it would be no bed of roses, but most of the people I talk to are really annoyed and simply not happy with the way things are playing out. I have asked several of these friends if they would simply go with the flow and study more, would they be able to let go some of their angst… was resoundingly shot down on that one. =) I harbor no romantic allusions as to how the college experience in my 40’s will be, but I know for a fact if I bitch all day long, I get even more unhappy. I do not know why they are all continuing their degree path if it is already making them so stressed out and irritable. When I was working full time and attending college as well, I had my share of those bad days. But I would simply grab a cold beer, dance around with friends for a while and pull up my big-girl panties and get back to work. My resilience has always been one of my best qualities, and I guess that is where I draw my strength from. So on those days when my foxling has chewed thru my last nerve and the papers are piling up, I just remember that my time with her is finite and brew an extra cup of decaf. A bubble bath helps, as does the occasional chinese food lunch. =)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. El Guapo
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 11:08:48

    Are these younger students, or older?
    Careful, you might end up being their den mother.

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 11:25:02

    They are all ages, from 20’s thru 50’s… I REALLY hope that the “den mother” comment has nothing to do with my age, Mr. Guap ! =) =) HAHAHA ! =)

    Seriously though, there seems to be a lot of confusion out there about switching careers, and I wish there was a way to let everyone know that the road will be long, but if they are following their true path, it is all worth it in the end. Great, now I sound like an old Yogi… maybe I will go climb a tree and smoke up… ! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

