a thought and a question…

SERIES POST #1

“With our intentions, actions and words, we manifest the future”… What are YOU manifesting today… love or hatred ? Acceptance or judgement ? Act with compassion, not anger. World peace can be that simple… it begins with you. =)

I have a question for you, something small yet all-encompassing, as well…

WHAT DO YOU WANT, AS FAR AS CAREER IS CONCERNED ?

I have been asking myself this question a lot lately. It sounds so easy and simple, but when I sat down, day after day, to really think about it and try to make some plans, it was harder than you might think. I have come to the realization that I do not have enough of this life left to make bad, long-lasting decisions on a regular basis anymore. =) I want to succeed and feel fulfilled and go to work every day with a sense of purpose. I cannot accomplish these things without first knowing WHAT it is that I am shooting for. I have been fortunate to have had 2 jobs that have satisfied me deeply, and that feeling is what I strive for in my future career.

WHAT I WANT TO DO IS… become a nurse. I want to stay in CT until I finish my MSN degree, and then make my way down the coast. My mid-term goal is to work at Walter Reed Military Medical Center, in Bethesda, MD. A MSN degree will afford me the most opportunity to do the type of patient care I have in mind, while affording me plenty of room for advancement. As the years roll on, I will try to find a place to call home in FL, southern CA or perhaps Hawaii, if all goes well.

I wanted explore nursing many years ago, but was swayed by allied-health opportunities and instead became a Medical Technologist. I loved the job and the freedoms it afforded me, and always was employed in a hospital or critical care center. After I went into the USCG, I gave up on going back to school, and along came marriage to The Professor and our beautiful foxling. I have put my dreams and desires on the back burner until they scorched to the bottom of the pan, which I promptly threw away. =) Well, circumstances change, and now I find in my possession a brand new, shiny set of high-end cookware, and I am ready to fill them up with all the good stuff I can pack into them.

I volunteered at a children’s hospital and ended up in the NICU, changing and loving on babies all hours of the day and night. I am great under pressure and fast on my feet so I was a natural in the Peds Oncology unit. This is another area in which I was considering specialization, and still do not know if I will end up working with soldiers over babies, but my first step is obtaining my BSN degree, regardless.

I am focusing my energies on attending my local state school, UConn. I have free tuition there, and while the program is not as top-notch as a prestigious private campus like Quinnipiac, it will get me where I need to go. Luckily, UConn’s MSN program is of a much higher caliber, and that is the ultimate goal. I need to complete around 16 courses with a 4.0 average (or as close to that as is possible) before I can attend, so I have my work cut out for me these next few years. =) I am looking at this part of my future as a challenge, rather than an insurmountable obstacle. It is all in the perception, baby. =)

So… that is what I am up to in this sunny, spring weather. This was step 1 on my list, to identify what I really want. What is it that makes you smile, that pushes you forward on hard days ?

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 09:14:18

    That is great that you have identified that! I still have no idea what I want. I think I want to be a housewife so that I can volunteer a lot in a bunch of different things, but that would mean finding a husband.

    So, my current job it will be, for a little while LOL

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 09:58:13

    Mmm… sigh, I know ! =) The idea of being a housewife, taking a ton of botany classes, volunteering for literacy and at a hospital… you know, throwing dinner parties for the hubby’s co-workers, taking sailing lessons and going to college part time until I have several PhD’s… sounds so awesome to me ! =) Of course, f we take the men out of the equation, it limits our resources… we need to play the lottery, Punky ! =)

    Reply

  3. El Guapo
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 11:41:45

    The thought of the life I’m building and sharing with my wife is what keeps me going.
    Despite what my I do for a living, I much more think of it as a job than a career.

    Reply

  4. tishmoon
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 17:15:21

    Is there something you’d rather be doing… something different ? Of course, your time with your wife is the top priority… =) But sometimes, that “job” can weigh you down, if not that is a GREAT thing, Guap ! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

