how about… not ?

Ok, this has not been the week of my dreams, but there is always a little sunshine, smiles or hope to tide us all thru… Then I make the mistake of reading the Times this morning. And my thoughts are immediately on the families and servicemen at Fort Hood. How many times will a shooting have to take place before we realize our soldiers need better support after they are deployed ?! The article had the audacity to question whether “… combat experience caused lingering psychological trauma”… SERIOUSLY ?! The gunman was being screened for PTSD as well as being actively treated for depression and anxiety. Based on this information alone, I would say that the “combat experience” sure as hell had something to do with his actions, no matter what the catalyst for his behavior was. My heart goes out at everyone down at Fort Hood, as well as anyone struggling with the aftermath of serving, no matter what the capacity.

5 THINGS I HATE TODAY…

1.  When people need help, ask for help and then cannot get the assistance they need. No one wins in these situations…

2.  The hole in my ceiling upstairs, and the fact that maintenance is taking all day to do the work… if they would have just hired a professional, this would have been taken care of in 2012. Spend the $, for frack’s sake !

3.  Splitting headaches… for over 3 months I had not one, but the last few weeks, they have been coming on with a vengeance. The only difference is a disrupted sleep pattern and have not been drinking that organic coffee I adore. Time to go back to that brand exclusively, or forgo the java completely.

4.  The all-inclusive curriculum subject pack, that… wait for it… did not include all necessary elements. Now have to spend $12 shipping for a $20 pronunciation cd. Fabulous, darling !

5.  Feeling manipulated. No matter what the cause or the situation, this bothers me on such a deep level, that I end up seeing red and reacting inappropriately. Can always shrug it off eventually, but while you are living it, it is really hard to get past.

6.  I know, I said 5. Something more trivial, but nonetheless bothersome today is the fact that I really am an adventurous girl… covered in layers of fat and responsibility, but I am still ME… and all I want to do is go exploring, but that’s not happening right now. I can feel the waves calling to me, the underwater caves whispering my name… the mountains asking me to climb them, the rocks begging for the touch of my toes as I ascend… the little bodegas filled with fruit, the huge flower markets with their intoxicating scent. The moonlit streams beside fires, owls hooting away in the treetops. Must needs adventure.

5 THINGS I LOVE TODAY…

DSCN2407 DSCN2409 DSCN2412

1.  New plants… =) The Historian and I spent a peaceful hour at the local garden shop on Tuesday afternoon, and much to our delight we found a small paradise. Hundreds of interesting trees, some hanging plants, many small asparagus and lettuce varieties and a veritable plethora of succulents filled the patio and spilled out across the property. It was like a fairy garden, filled with shining promise in the chilly, sun-splashed day. We came home with two little babies, perfect in their smallness and balance. Now, upon awakening, we are greeted with a bit of nature that can only make us smile.

2.  Aforementioned organic, decaf coffee… The Professor stopped at Whole Foods yesterday and obligingly delivered sacks of foodstuffs to my door, saving me the trip. He found the coffee I have been pining for, and arrived with a pound each of the decaf and “real” beans ! Now I am set for a month or two and hope this, my regular blend, will chase away the headaches. It was so nice to see his smiling face, and chat for a minute before he jumped back into his car and zoomed away in the blazing sun. He even got me a Cherry Chia Kombucha… didn’t even ask and he knew just what kind of treat would thrill me. He’s good like that. =)

3.  The new washer… it is a newer model and works like a charm for the load size I throw in. It is much quicker than the last one and does not shred my delicates, which is always a good thing. I cannot believe how many folks deal with not having a washer and dryer in their homes, and appreciate how much easier my life is knowing I can do the wash at 11pm if I choose to do so. Who am I kidding, like I am up at 11pm for any reason, let alone to do the wash ! =)

4.  SUN, SUN, SUNSHINE !!!!!!!! Have I mentioned the SUN ?! Considering that on Monday we were watching the snow fall, I am even happier than usual at the sight of that luminescent globe. I have bathmats drying outside right now, and the birds are performing their decadent homage to the light. I am thrilled beyond belief at the warmth on our smiling faces as we walk in the afternoons.

5.  Williams Sonoma Meyer Lemon countertop spray… it has a lighter scent than regular cleaners and does not bother my head. It cleans well and does not stain any surface I have tried it on thus far. Got the sticky off the stove knobs, too.

Have to go now, re-washing all the linens from the closet because there now I have bits of ceiling and varnished wood falling all over my clean laundry, thanks to cracks in the exterior walls allowing wind to blow thru the roof and due to the poor job they did fitting the wooden access panel to the hole they cut. This occurs AFTER maintenance finished up and I was assured all was well… and AFTER  I washed them, scrubbed the closet shelves and vacuumed the interior carpet to within an inch of its life. So much for a quiet afternoon…

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Akriti
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 12:41:35

    NICE POST 🙂

    Reply

  2. NotAPunkRocker
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 13:08:38

    Yay for the good things!

    I am with you on some of those not so good ones, especially #6, though maybe not quite with all of those activities.

    Enjoy the sun, soak up the Vitamin D 🙂

    Reply

    • tishmoon
      Apr 03, 2014 @ 15:52:14

      Thanks, Punky, and I hope you have some pretty weather as well ! =) And no matter what your interests are, it is nice to be able to run as fast as you can and jump… ! =)

      Reply

  3. El Guapo
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 13:54:05

    Glad you remember the good so it’s not all bad.
    Yeah, the shootings at Fort Hood are a horror. Doubt we’ll learn anything from it. We rarely do.

    Enjoy the sunshine!

    Reply

    • tishmoon
      Apr 03, 2014 @ 15:53:31

      You too, Guap ! =) Nothing is black and white, and finding the grey is a real joy, most times. =) Enjoy your neck of this woods, hope it is warming up nicely ! =)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language for second language learners

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

