priorities… and photos…

5 THINGS TO WORK ON THIS WEEK…

1.  BE VULNERABLE… no one likes to admit to their own vulnerability, although most of us women find it appealing in our mates. Admitting to your vulnerability, and allowing someone else to see it is key to learning about ourselves, and feeling deeply connected to others. Time to let it all hang out… =)

2.  TREAT MYSELF TO SOMETHING SPECIAL… anything at all, can be something of such a tiny cost, but that gives BIG dividends for you… an example is a $2 pot of nail paint, which has given me a weeks worth of smiles so far. I am planing a mini-break without the foxling, and this is a little bigger in the expense and experience department. Diligently paying down the credit card balance allows me this treat, and I am proud of our hard work to make this new living arrangement work. We all deserve a special treat ! =)

3.  MAKE A POWERFUL REQUEST… and do not care what the answer is… no means nothing, really… and you never know when you just might receive a resounding “HELLS YEAH !” This is a how we build self-worth… by believing we are worth what we ask for, and learning how to ask for it. The answer really is irrelevant… its the process that counts. =)

4.  SHARE MY NEEDS… see a pattern here ?! taking a little step out of your comfort zone is always a good thing. Ask away, any small thing. We all do acts of kindness for those around us on a regular basis, why not admit that we occasionally need a bit back ? Friends and loved ones are generally happy to help, and willing. If that is not the case, at least you have jumped outta the nest ! =)

5.  BE FLEXIBLE… have been actively practicing this one for a while, and am finally making strides toward the reactions I believe to be right for me. Spontaneity can be hard with a kid, a budget and no partner in an area away from your friends, but it is possible. Going to grasp at those butterflies when they come flying around, and see what we catch. =)

5 THINGS THAT I AM LOVING RIGHT NOW…

1.  “Porcelain” by Moby…  always makes me feel calm inside, remembering who I am, what I can do, and that it’s all good. =)

2.  Football… how I love watching a good ball game… not the NFL ridiculousness, all pomp and flashy dance moves, but the high school or lowly-rated college games. You know the ones where the kids laugh, tear up, scream, bleed and play their young hearts out, just hoping that someday they will get where they want to be. This is watching a bit of a dream, being privy to a life unfolding, a chance to be a part of something bigger than you, me or any one of us… the collective human dream. Add a cup of cold beer, and this is the stuff dreams are made of, folks. =)

3.  54 degrees… our sunny weather today did not disappoint, although the wind was trying it’s damnedest to blow me into the shrubs at every turn.  Took 2 hour-long walks today, and came back laughing and refreshed both times. I am a girl who needs to feel the elements on her skin, which is probably why I am happiest floating in that wide, blue beyond…

4.  The Home Scholar… I bit the bullet and bought a membership to a home-educating club that specializes in record-keeping and support. As you know by now, my foxling is skipping another grade and will be a high school freshman this September… I am organized to within an inch of our collective lives, but was missing the finishing touches, as well as the support and guidance I needed to do my job to the best of my ability. I can now say with all honesty that I am unafraid, feeling brightly competent, and know I will be able to create transcripts that are an accurate representation of Isobel’s total homeschooling experience, as well as highlighting her unique abilities and interests. =) YEAH !!!!!!

5.  That crazy bean necklace I talked about last week… I know, I know, just a thin chain holding a blob of an element… a friendly reader referred to it as a “talisman” of mine. So true ! I am the girl who, when she traveled, carried worn rocks, worry dolls and braided threads around my ankles. Who always held something tangible during the long treks at night, alone and in a foreign place No fear, just possibility, all focused on that small object I would keep close. I forget I have it on sometimes, until like yesterday, when I bent over to take the onion rings out of the oven. I reached in and grabbed the pan and as I stood back up, the hot bean pressed against my neck, eliciting a gasp. The Professor asked if I was alright, and I grinned as I assured him I was fine. I have my long mala beads upstairs, and a beaded bracelet stays on my wrist thru the night, but this little baby stays put thru the days, close to my heart…

SNAPS OF OUR LITTLE PART OF THE WORLD…

DSCN2318 DSCN2322 DSCN2325 DSCN2327 DSCN2328 DSCN2330 DSCN2332

We celebrated the coming of spring on Thursday with some candy for my foxling and an adorable little bunny ! =) The plates were on sale and I could not resist, the smile on her face was worth the few dollars. =) I painted her bitty nails with my polish, and putting down a base of purplish-grey helped bring out the glitter… thanks for the suggestion, Punky ! =) We changed out our heavy winter duvets for the thinner quilts you see, their bright colors flooding our bedrooms with happiness and light. =) Her fav show Grey’s… she loved the idea of posting it to her sphere, I shared it here to illustrate the fact that my teenage daughter discusses with me which actor is the cutest… ! =) And finally, the sunset we enjoyed walking in, a hint of color and possibly the faintest buds pushing their way out of the bare branches. Happy spring, she shouts with laughter in her voice ! =)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 17:25:44

    There is so much to love about this post, but especially the priority list! That is a wonderful idea.

    I love the pictures!

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 19:13:46

    Thanks, as always, for your kind words, Punky ! =) I tend to ramble a bit on the weekends, but that is when my ideas really gel and I can express myself. =)

    Reply

  3. El Guapo
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 20:52:32

    Fantastic!
    So as you do the things on your list each week, do you try to continue them as you move on?

    Reply

  4. tishmoon
    Mar 25, 2014 @ 11:52:48

    Oh yes, a resounding YES ! =) =) Sometimes, I work nothings for months until I feel I have made progress, then find myself able to accomplish several goals in a matter of days ! Life is so fluid, and I try to gain knowledge and carry it for a time. I think of myself as a mossy little ball, gently rolling down hills… I collect small bits along the way and will eventually be so big, the world will not be able to contain me ! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

