sunday madness…

Am I the only person who, when she hears unexplained thumping downstairs, thinks that the laundry room must be filled with rats and they are banging against the door, trying to break free and get me ?! To be fair, we love in a row of attached town homes, so there really are noises I am hearing, I am not TOTALLY crazy yet. These noises probably, HOPEFULLY, are just from my neighbors… I really hate that laundry room. I am not a big fan of the down-downstairs level, I happen to believe that 2 floors are more than enough for any normal sized family. If you are The Duggars, feel free to build a 6 level. Just watch out for rats below.

I went for a long walk this morning at 7… I love that time of morning on Sundays in our neighborhood. Not a soul in sight, the only sounds were the multitude of birds calling to one another repeatedly. It is dreary out today, and cold, but there was something new in the air… I could smell wet, as we are getting snow this morning, but also dirt and tree bark. Even though the temp was low, the air felt slightly warmer as it twisted my hair across the back of my neck, and I felt the certainty of spring approaching. I smiled such a huge grin that I thought my cheeks would split ! I felt buoyed, lifted up oh so high, like I could actually fly if I just jumped up with enough force. Ah… the promise of warmth, sunshine and green to surround me makes me laugh out loud even as I sit here typing. =)

Todays photo challenge is “borrowed”… Being the imp that I am, I immediately thought of “borrowing” a shiny corvette and having my foxling take a photo of me zipping away, grinning… but I do not want to go to prison, and she is much too young for a criminal record. Besides, she does not get home until later. Foiled again ! =)

I was surprised as I walked around the house to find I do not have anything, really, that has been borrowed. No library books, movies from friends, or the like. If The Professor’s robe were still hanging on my bedroom door, I would have thrown it on and snapped away, but alas, it is with him now. I can’t tell you how much I miss that robe, slipping into it whenever I needed that feeling of being small and safe… but I digress. I could have borrowed something from my foxling, but was not really feeling it. A-HA ! On my left-hand towel hook is a dark green towel we borrowed from my mom last November when we flew down to her house. It got in our box while we were packing and she said not to bother sending it back, so there you have it. The one legitimately borrowed item in the house. =)

DSCN2172

BTW… it was not rats, just the maintenance men in the unit next door. Safe for another day !

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

A Lifestyle & Beauty Blog

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

