a la daily prompt…

My foxing and I took a long walk in the rain last night. Surrounded by inky darkness, the street lamps threw orbs of yellow back and forth across our path like a breadcrumb-trail of beacons. The air was warm enough to generate fog, which sat high in the treetops; a canopy to keep us safe and sound. Muted by the weather, our voices echoed across the yards and cars, bouncing off snowbanks and our polka-dot umbrellas. It felt as if we were the only creatures on earth, so deep was the quiet. The squish of our sneakers padding thru puddles threw water up onto our calves, drenching our jeans, which created a bubble of laughter from my foxing. I am in love with the fact that she still wants to spend these moments with me. =)

This morning, the rain continues, and I am beyond happy that we are not getting more snow today. My joy is short lived, however, as the forecast is predicting flurries again this weekend. I cannot impress upon you my absolute NEED for spring to make her appearance… sooner would be better than later, Mother Nature. Just sayin’…

I have been browsing the Daily Prompts, and loved the most recent post from LDG, about fashion. The question was

“What fashion do I like, or think is stylish?”

Clothes shopping rates up there with dental work in my opinion. I used to find a few very nicely cut shirts or shorts, then buy them in shades of blue, black, tan and white so I could throw on anything at a moments notice and still look good. Of course, when you are young and super skinny with full hips, anything makes you look good. =) I never had much passion for fashion, preferred to spend my money traveling and adventuring. As I get older, and am beginning to lose more weight, I have been thinking of what I would like to buy to complement my body type. I am tired of looking  my age, and would prefer to look appealing and pretty, without much fuss. While I would never copy her, I have found someone whose style I just adore.

Robin Wright is just so elegant, in an understated way… she reminds me of Audrey Hepburn. Of course, no one is Audrey, but Robin has a way of dressing simply with an effortless grace that accentuates her fantastic, classic beauty. She has aged slowly, and while looking fabulous, she still looks mature… no Botox for her. =) Check out her character in HOUSE OF CARDS… the way she dresses is just unbelievable. Powerful, sleek lines, menswear-inspired shirts and pants. Smooth, clean, super sexy, very feminine … =) Her super-short haircut complements her wardrobe perfectly, and is dyed a multi-faceted blonde, which lightens your complexion and looks youthful. She is one of those women who is so beautiful, she could not look bad in anything. But her fashion choices accentuate her strengths and she looks perfect, at all times. She really captures classic, timeless beauty as a woman of a certain age. We should all be so lucky. =)

The other prompt question from around the web that caught my eye was

“What is in your fridge right now ?”

Since Saturdays are my time at the grocers, I do not have much in there at the moment. A half-dozen organic, cage-free eggs with Omega-3’s… A clamshell of fresh, organic spinach and one of baby lettuce… half a large container of Fage yogurt, one apple, an onion, a tomato, an eggplant, some mushrooms and two carrots. 1/2 gallon milk, a quart of half and half and a couple of pickles. Finally, some hot Abruzzese sausage and cheese for my foxing and The Professor to enjoy tonight with a baguette.

And that’s all she wrote, folks. Have a lovely weekend, will be back soon… =)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. El Guapo
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 09:53:34

    29 days til spring!

    Reply

    • tishmoon
      Feb 21, 2014 @ 10:21:11

      Aw, leave it to you to bring a boost of sunshine to this otherwise dreary February day ! =)

      Make sure you are still stopping by during the summer, this Eyore-ishness melts away and I am actually a pretty happy gal ! =)

      Reply

  2. NotAPunkRocker
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 10:57:52

    It is 70 today and they are calling for potential snow again next week. UGH!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language for second language learners

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, lifestyle & everything in between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

