running on empty…

Are you a music fan, really a music lover, someone who cannot imagine getting thru a single day without song ? I am , he is, my foxling is too. We live in houses filled with tunes, any kind will do. From morning ’till night, someone has something playing in the background.

Funny how songs can bring memories, happiness, comfort, pain, joy, energy, laughter, tears… any emotion I feel can be tempered by the balm of a favorite song. This morning, as I was arranging piles of school books on the counter for our day, I was listening to the usual mishmash of my iPod on shuffle. A little bit of everything, back to back. Just as I was headed to the kitchen for my ever-earlier cup of coffee, “Running on empty” began to play. This might be sad for some, but for me, it is a cool splash of water on my hot face. I remember years of listening to this song as I ran, melting  miles away in the hot sun of Corpus Christi or the cold rains of Ketchikan. Running thru my 20’s, up hills and down valleys, alone or with a friend or two insane enough to come along for the ride. I really did hate to run, but the feeling of euphoria when I stopped was enough to drive me back out, again and again.

Music also anchors me to the happy times of my childhood; which are sadly few and far between. Some songs remind me of being with my Aunt Sue, dancing in and out of her beaded curtains while her pot-loving friends braided my hair and fed me cake and sodas. Fast forward 14 years and some make me think of backpacking thru the English countryside, a water bottle filled with gin dangling from my belt clip… others bring me back to being on the boat, swaying gently with the swells; 2am and nothing but the brilliant stars shining just for me, the prow cutting thru phosphorescence and pushing always ahead. It seems everything I listen to embodies a story inside of me, and the sweet release of memories is my drug of choice now.

So for me, listening to the familiar lyrics of “Running on empty” brings a smile to my face. I can almost feel the hot sun on my sweaty brow, the foam-covered headphones of my old Walkman bouncing up and down on my ears, white Reebok filled with sand and two pair of slouch sox, pony-tail swinging in the gentle breeze… I am reminded that life has always been an interplay of bliss and pain. That I have always pushed myself to do more, become more. The only difference is that I am older now. The rest is just details.

Yesterday, after my appalling, late-night whine-fest of an e-mail was read by The Professor, he had the decency to call and try to make things better. Of course, this sent me into a fresh spasm of tears and pain. He can be so infuriating, but more often is simply a decent, good, supportive man who is trying to make the best of a shitty situation we got ourselves into and cannot extricate from without getting some cuts and scrapes along the way. I will take my fair share of the blame here, but know he does, as well. The situation is emotional, and our attitudes ebb and flow like the water we love. Always, though,he tries to put me at ease, to help me thru the pain, knowing full well that he is the cause of it all. He does it with love, finesse and decency, and for that, I am grateful. He has not, for one second, made me feel like a burden, a problem he is trying to escape. He treats me with respect and kindness, as we try to navigate these strange new waters we find ourselves in. Perhaps some days are spend merely trying not to drown, but many more are spent in contemplation and dare I say… a modicum of happiness ?

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

