not drowning…

Did you ever almost drown ? When it happened to me, the cold water rushing into my throat and lungs did not hurt, which surprised me. I felt myself slowly sinking, and eventually stopped struggling. Seemingly out of nowhere, strong arms grabbed me roughly under the arms and hauled me up, up.. I felt so heavy and just wanted to sleep. When my head broke the surface and I gasped, THAT is when the pain started. A fiery burn deep into my core that caused me to wretch and sob, when I could finally draw an unadulterated breath. Lying on the cold sand, being wrapped in sun-warmed towels, I was dazed and did not know if it was all real, or if I was still in the water, falling.

In living these past few months with The Professor and all his confessions, I am reminded of that day, so long ago. For the past 14 years, we both have been slowly drowning, the pull toward the deep almost lulling us into complacency. For him, the urge to break thru the water came sooner than I, and as he struggled toward the shore, he realized the end of our life together was imminent.

I did not realize it until I was slapped with the truth across the face; painful and oh-so-obvious, in retrospect. I have been dreaming lately, off and on, of the day I almost drowned. Now, I can feel myself rising to the surface, struggling to break my head free of the weight of the water, and take a screaming breath. In my dreams, I can see the light above me, getting brighter the harder I push upwards, always upwards.

There is no giving up the fight now; I want desperately to LIVE, to make up for all that time I lost sinking into oblivion. Coughing and spitting up the disappointment, purging the anger, and breathing in the sweet air of possibility, I lay here in victory. Hurt, a little broken; wet and cold. But filling my lungs and life with the knowledge that I will waste not another day of my own precious life.

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

A Lifestyle & Beauty Blog

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

