budgeting…

I am sitting here, surrounded by books on all sides. We are moving furniture in and out of two houses this weekend, and I am trying to get a head start on the prep work involved. Since we will be using my foxling’s beautiful, old white dresser as the media center here in the den, I decided to bring up the white bookshelf from down stairs, to place in the corner of the living room. Hence the ensuing mess. Everything seems so simple in the planning stages, but when you are half way thru the actual work, it gets a bit daunting. =) Luckily, I have yogurt to eat and a blog to write; perfect excuses for a break.

I am also working on the budget for January. Years ago, before I unceremoniously dumped the responsibility into his lap, I used to do the budget and bill paying. Truth be told, I miss filing in the blanks with neat numbers written in purple ink, slowly watching our few spare dollars grow in the savings column. I am a girl who likes a challenge, so no matter what the amount, it always felt like an accomplishment when depositing the monies into our savings account. So I am pleased to be taking back some responsibility for what I choose to spend and save each month. My goal for 2014 is to pay off my one credit card that carries a balance, as well as create an emergency account. Our car is at roughly 117,000 miles, so that emergency fund is a necessity.

My iPod is on shuffle, and it just cycled around to another Radiohead song. Between them and Coldplay, I am seeing that the little gadget has a specific taste in music. Out of about 2,000 songs, I will hear the same 4-9 every day, without fail. No complaints, however, as I am beginning to like these two bands more and more. Hmm… my tastes being altered by a machine… are they getting ready for a coup d’Etat? I loved the “Terminator” movies, although I do not think I would want to actually live in the storyline. =) As long as no crappy Justin Beiber appears on my mp3 player, we are just fine.

Well, those books have not magicked themselves away yet, so I had better get back to the task at hand. My foxling is also going to spend the night at her dad’s new house this evening, so we have a bit of packing to do. She is beyond thrilled, and I am a tad bit happy as well… this means no cooking for the dinner meal. Salad and Lean Cuisine, here I come ! =) I can see a long, hot bubble bath in my immediate future, followed by the first SATC movie, curled up in The Professors heavy robe on the couch. Maybe this “being alone one once in a while” thing is going alright.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BeWithUs
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 09:02:09

    Good luck with the packing and tidying! Cheers~ 😀

    Reply

  2. tishmoon
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:37:55

    Thanks so much, with my foxling’s help, it will be a fun morning ! Have a gorgeous day ! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

