rainy days and Thursdays…

As I sit on the couch with a hot coffee in hand, my foxling is upstairs finishing her math work for the day. She loves being in her space, working the afternoon away. She lays on the bed with pillows surrounding her legs, propping up books with blankets, humming quietly. She will be so pleased with the desk she is getting for her birthday !

We walked again before lessons this morning, amidst the cool rain. The soft pattering sound it made on the bushes and trees was so soothing, we were fairly quiet and introspective for the duration. Changing into dry clothes, we spent a quiet morning exploring curriculum, talking about high school plans and generally enjoying ourselves. There are days when I could cry the time away in a hot shower, and then there are days like this; when we connect, but calmly and there is a peace in the air that comes with the change of season and knowing you are well ahead of the game.

One rule of homeschooling I find to be true is that no matter what you plan, fate has a way of stepping in and stirring the pot gleefully. I am organized by nature and necessity, but even my plans can be dashed against the rocks at times. The Historian has been “invited” to skip a grade next year and start high school with a small, private umbrella school. =) I am so proud of her hard work, and all the time she invests in her future. I want her to be able to work toward her goals and dreams, and know she can put in the required effort. She has other irons in the fire, too soon to speak of, but in the early stages. These next few years will be filled with new experiences and possibilities for her. I have decided to take a leap of faith, in my teaching skills over the past years, as well as her inherent giftedness and ability to choose what is best for herself. This is a hard thing for any parent to do, but at her tender age, I feel like I should be holding her close, not encouraging her to fly just yet.

She now needs more than I can provide, and while I am teaching her this year, in 2014 I will teach only 2 classes and facilitate for her in the endeavors she has chosen. I am thrilled for her, and interested to see what she makes of these opportunities.  My foxling has decided to take her future into her own hands. As she looks up at me with those bottomless baby-blues, I know I have no choice but to let her jump, and I simply grab her hand and we race together, toward the edge of the cliff…

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language for second language learners

Sincerely Reine

Beauty, Lifestyle & Everything Else In Between

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

