a new dawn, a new day…

Salutations, bloggy friends ! Upon checking my stats this morning, I found I had new followers… coupled with how much I miss everyone, I decided to end the self-imposed exile and rejoin my peeps. =)

Can you believe it is September already ?! The Professor has clinical rotations this morning, and The Historian is on her 2nd week of her new term ! As expected, the forensics class is rapidly becoming her favorite. =) She is steadily working toward her goals, which may include a college-prep online school or skipping a grade… I am trying to facilitate, rather than just teach her as she matures, and allow her to forge ahead on paths that interest her. Will keep you posted.

We have had storms as of late, with ridiculously high winds, and the landscape looks more like late fall… the leaves that scatter the ground are all manner of oranges and reds, and the limbs are looking decidedly bare.  I even saw a haunted house gingerbread kit at the local Williams Sonoma, something I know my foxling would go ape over. This reminds me that her birthday is approaching, and she will be 13. 13.. Holy Frick ! I will have a teenage daughter… I already am showing signs of wear, what with my grey hair peeking thru and my increasing body mass, but really ?! If there was any doubt that I am no longer the willowy, flexible, young professional my hubby married all those years ago, having a teenager really puts it into perspective. The jigs up, folks. =) I peek into the kitchen, where The Professor is breaking down boxes for recycling, and catch his eye. Where are those crazy kids we once were, splashing in the surf in Mexico, dancing on a rooftop in Panama, or watching fireworks in Sonoma ?! I am struggling with this one, that is really an understatement. I am the same person, but not… I FEEL the same inside, but know how far we have come, and how different things look now, in the light of day. I cannot remember the last time we danced late at night, but that burning desire is never far from my mind.

I am going to grab some Kefir, pick up a book, and spend a few minutes quietly reading before my foxling gets up, and bounds down the stairs, ready to jump into her new day. What I would not give for that energy again ! Happy September, everyone, it is good to be back. =)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CombatBabe
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 11:55:20

    Welcome back, Tish! It’s great to have you writing again. 🙂

    Reply

  2. maxfurr
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 19:22:04

    Enjoyed the post. OMG! 13. I used to say, “the trouble with children is that they become teenagers.”

    I would wish you good luck, but is sounds like you raised her with care and compassion. She will have her own mind just as you encouraged. That was a wonderful gift.

    Reply

    • tishmoon
      Sep 03, 2013 @ 19:35:47

      Max, thanks so much for your kind words ! I am a flawed parent, but I believe that putting forth good effort makes a world of difference. 🙂

      Reply

      • maxfurr
        Sep 04, 2013 @ 05:00:22

        I, too, was a flawed parent. We are all flawed in various ways because we are human. The best we can do is to find the right path and try to stay on it. 😀

  3. tishmoon
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 06:50:01

    Again, Max, words of wisdom… the path may have lead over rocky terrain and thru muddied waters, but I would not trade the journey for all the gold in the world ! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

to irrigate the desert...

watering the future, one mind at a time

Zipf's Law

A blog about the implications of the statistical properties of language

Sincerely Reine

A Lifestyle & Beauty Blog

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

No Blog Intended

But the pun is

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Bluefish Way

The life of Ralph, Natascha and our cats

coffee and a blank page

a feminist writes, rants, remembers

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Power Plant Men

True Power Plant Stories

Mad Tea Party in My Head

Clean Cup! Move Down!

The Virtual Statesman

The Independent & Engaging Political Commentator

CombatBabe

somewhat witty, often combative.

A Tramp in the Woods

A nature diary from the Forest of Dean.

Mollytopia

Fabulously Refined/Wildy Inappropriate

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

